The Faculty of Social Sciences comprises seven departments: Education Studies, Geography, Government & International Studies, History, Physical Education, Social Work and Sociology. Our Faculty is the largest faculty in the Hong Kong Baptist University in terms of number of departments, teaching staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students. Upholding the whole person educational philosophy of the University, the Faculty is committed to nurturing student personal, intellectual and professional development with a liberal arts education. We emphasize global social science knowledge for whole person development. We also share a passion to inspire students to be creative and fulfilled builders of a fair global society and a strong University for the region.

The Faculty nurtures academic development through a number of centres, they are the Advanced Institute for Contemporary China Studies,  Centre for Child Development, Centre for China Urban and Regional Studies, Centre for Geo-Computation Studies, Centre for Global Sport and Recreation Studies, Centre for the Advancement of Social Sciences Research, Centre for Trauma Treatment and Well-being, Centre for Youth Research and Practice, CIE Wellness Promotion Centre, Comparative Governance and Policy Research Centre, Dr. Stephen Hui Research Centre for Physical Recreation and Wellness, European Documentation Centre, Asian Energy Studies Centre, Modern History Research Centre,Centre for Learning Sciences, and Social Work Practice and Mental Health Centre.

Our staff are funded and fully engaged in cutting-edge research, often with students. Some of our recent and notable inquiries have addressed social and political (including accents on comparative analyses of China, gender, Christianity); urban and mobile China; social justice and equality; environmental change and health; youth and wellbeing; social and sports psychology. In addition to a range of popular undergraduate honors degrees offered our innovative professional degrees attract and serve educators, public administrators, social workers, urban planners, community organisers, and many others from across China and overseas.

Faculty Logo

Our Faculty logo, appearing as if an eye, suggests the Faculty keep pace with the ever-changing society by delivering quality education and research, and contributing to community advancement. The eyeball consists of the seven Social Sciences department abbreviations and shows the shared vision of the Faculty. The curves around the eyeball symbolize the aims of the Faculty to develop students' world vision in overcoming challenges and seizing opportunities. The colours of blue and green lend a natural tone to the Faculty logo to reveal the harmony between the Faculty's education and the global community.

社會科學院由七個學系組成,包括教育學系、地理系、政治及國際關係學系、歷史系、體育學系、社會工作系及社會學系。現為浸會大學中學系數目、教員及學生人數最多的學院。為貫徹大學「全人教育」的教學理念,學院提供的課程強調同學的個人、才智及專業發展,並著重全球化社會科學知識,達致全人發展的目的。學院滿載熱誠地為啟發學生的創意,建立一個公平的全球化社會和具地區性實力的大學而努力。

此外,學院設立多個中心促進學術發展,包括當代中國研究中心、兒童發展研究中心、中國城市與區域研究中心、香港地學計算與分析研究中心、社會科學研究中心、創傷治療復原中心、青年研究實踐中心、國際學院健康生活發展中心、比較管治與政策研究中心、許士芬博士體康研究中心、歐洲文獻中心、亞洲能源研究中心、近代史研究中心、學習科學中心,及社會工作實踐及精神中心。

學院資助院內各教學研究人員及學生共同進行各項前尖性的社會研究。部分近期和顯著的議題有:社會及政治轉型(包括中國、性別、基督教等方面的比較分析)、城市與流動的中國、社會公義與平等、環境轉變和健康、青年與福利、社會及運動心理學。學院提供一系列受歡迎的本科榮譽學位課程外,亦開辦一些創新的專業學位課程,吸引教育工作者、公共行人員、社會工作者、城市規劃人員、社區組織,以及許多來自中國及海外的人士就讀。

學院徽號 

本院的徽號以眼晴的形狀出現,示意學院時刻留意社會轉變,提供優質教育及研究貢獻社會,與時俱進。徽號中的眼球以本院轄下七個學系英文簡稱組成,表示它們與學院的目標一致。眼球外的彎曲線象徵本院致力拓展學生的國際視野,以增加他們克服挑戰及把握機遇的能力。徽號以藍及綠色為主調,表達出本院所提供的教育與環球社區維持融洽和諧關係。