In this fast-changing world brought about by globalization, we need people who are versatile, can move with changes and offer solutions to the current and impending social issues.  At HKBU’s Faculty of Social Sciences produces transdisciplinary knowledge as the basis of our unique disciplinary genetics, we look into the social issues from different perspectives, conduct comparative analysis, both historically and geographically, and produce transdisciplinary knowledge to serve the world.  We have expertise in conducting the following trans-disciplinary research themes:

We conduct comparative researches on environment, social and political landscapes to uncover the various social issues, such as energy problems, resource and ecosystem management, human-environment interactions, and climate change in China, Asia and Europe. The researches aim at developing a better understanding of the past, present and future of the process and impact of the changing environment as well as the social and political landscapes.

Social justice and equality have long been hot topics for research with researchers approaching relevant issues from different perspective. Our facult members adopt a transdisciplinary approach to investigate social justice and equality arising from the disparities between different gender, classes, cultures and ethnicities.

The global influence of China has afforded new relevance to the study of urban developments in the country. Our research focuses on enhancing understanding of urban and mobile China (including Hong Kong) from political, historical, economic, geographical and sociological perspectives.

全球化為世界帶來急速轉變,我們需要靈巧的通才,懂得與時並進,同時能為當今急切的社會問題提供解決方案。浸大社會科學院以多角度剖析社會問題,從歷史及地線等不同角度分析比較;並探求跨學科的知識,以貢獻社會。

變遷的環境、社會及政治面貌
我們對環境、社會及政治面貌進行比較研究,探討各項社會會議,例如能源問題、資源及生態、人類與環境的互動,以及中國、亞洲和歐洲的氣候轉變所產生的問題。研究旨在尋找和理解連貫過去,現在及將來的過程和脈絡,及其對變化中的環境、社會及政治狀況的影響。

社會公義和公平
長久以來,社會公義和公平是熱門的研究課題,研究員從不同的角度探討這些議題。我們的研究主要以跨學科的模式,探討因性別、階段、文化及種族上的差異所引發的公義和公平的問題。

城市化和流動中的中國
中國在世界舞台上的影響力引發我們去思考國內都市發展的問題。我們的研究旨在從政治,歷史、經濟、地理和社會層面進行探索,以提升我們對城市化和流動中的中國(包括香港) 的理解。